top of page
  • Lleyton Hughes

END CREDITS REVIEWS: NOPE

Updated: Jan 30, 2023

RATING: BOOK ME IN TO WATCH IT AGAIN

Release: 2022

Director: Jordan Peele

Cast: Daniel Kaluuya, Keke Palmer, Steven Yeun


It’s rare these days to go into a new film with no idea what to expect. The promo for Jordan Peele's Nope revealed very little about the plot and themes. And one thing I really loved about this film is that it felt very original.


It was so refreshing to see a movie that wasn’t trying to be another movie. The ideas felt inspired. The images creative. And the whole thing felt like it was created by people who were super passionate about the project.


At this point I have little idea of what this movie is trying to say. There was a lot about animals and how we treat them. And there was also a lot about today’s society and how we’re obsessed with filming everything. It was scary and it was funny and I loved the little backstories and the character interactions.


But then there was the ending. I would hate to say that they fumbled the ending here. But I have to say I was a little underwhelmed with it. I hope it grows on me as I think more about the film. But overall a very great film and possibly my favourite of the year so far.


(End Credit Review Rules:

1. I watch a movie at the cinemas and start reviewing the film as soon as the end credits start. As soon as the end credits finish I have to stop writing.

2. I’m allowed to go over what I’ve written once just to make sure it makes sense. And that’s it.

3. I will rate the movie according to how likely I am to watch again.

DISCLAIMER: These reviews will be my unprocessed thoughts and are likely to change after due consideration.)

Comentarios


bottom of page