top of page
  • Lleyton Hughes

END CREDITS REVIEW: ELVIS

Updated: Jan 30, 2023

RATING: I COULD WATCH THAT FIRST 30 MINUTES ON REPEAT ALL DAY

Year: 2022

Director: Baz Luhrmann

Cast: Austin Butler, Tom Hanks, Helen Thomson


Elvis is told from the perspective of Hanks’ Colonel Tom Parker. A decision I think ultimately seperates this biopic from the others before it. And one that makes it superior.


The film’s strongest elements are also some of its biggest weaknesses. Luhrmann’s style is much better fitted to a musical type film than a classic novel such as The Great Gatsby. The first 30 minutes are incredible. The constant flashbacks and grand editing style reminded me of the opening of Speed Racer.


But I don’t think Luhrmann has successfully managed to balance style and content completely yet. With some parts heavily infused with his style and others devoid of it. And it makes some parts drag on.


Which brings me to another strength/failure which is the films length. It does add to the films depth, but also makes it ultimately drag at some points.


Butler and Hanks disappear into their roles. And they truly carry the film along. The music is, as expectedly, amazing. And the themes of loneliness and depiction of elvis’ ultimate downfall are done very well.


(End Credit Review Rules:

1. I watch a movie at the cinemas and start reviewing the film as soon as the end credits start. As soon as the end credits finish I have to stop writing.

2. I’m allowed to go over what I’ve written once just to make sure it makes sense. And that’s it.

3. I will rate the movie according to how likely I am to watch again.

DISCLAIMER: These reviews will be my unprocessed thoughts and are likely to change after due consideration.)



Comments


bottom of page