top of page
  • Lleyton Hughes

END CREDITS REVIEW: THOR: LOVE AND THUNDER

Updated: Jan 30, 2023

RATING: WOULD ONLY WATCH AGAIN IF REWATCHING THE ENTIRE MCU

Year: 2022

Director: Taika Waititi

Cast: Chris Hemsworth, Natalie Portman, Tessa Thompson, Christian Bale


Thor: Love and Thunder seems to be a film about love and all of its forms. Friendship, relationships, fatherhood. Challenging us to open our hearts to all of these types. Even if it’s two rock men holding hands over lava.


The film is more Guardians of the Galaxy than a Thor movie. They jump from CGI planet to CGI planet. And they make jokes in every scene. There are some insanely good visuals, performances and ideas. But a lot of it is bogged down in CGI, retellings of the whole Thor story and silliness.


The movie seemed confused about what kind of film it was. And tried too hard to give every main character some sort of arc. I think it works best when the actors are actually able to perform and the visuals able to stand alone. There is just too much going on which makes these moments less impactful.


That being said it was still a fun film and even though the film was 90% jokes I probably laughed at a quarter of them. I think marvel need to look back at their phase one films and try to learn from the simplicity of the storytelling from those early films.


(End Credit Review Rules:

1. I watch a movie at the cinemas and start reviewing the film as soon as the end credits start. As soon as the end credits finish I have to stop writing.

2. I’m allowed to go over what I’ve written once just to make sure it makes sense. And that’s it.

3. I will rate the movie according to how likely I am to watch again.

DISCLAIMER: These reviews will be my unprocessed thoughts and are likely to change after due consideration. )


Comments


bottom of page