top of page
  • Lleyton Hughes

END CREDITS REVIEW: THE FABELMANS

Updated: Apr 21, 2023

RATING: LET ME WATCH SPIELBERGS WHOLE FILMOGRAPHY AND THEN COME BACK AND WATCH THIS MASTERPIECE AGAIN

Original Release: 2022

Directed By: Steven Spielberg

Cast: Gabriel LaBelle, Paul Dano, Michelle Williams


Watching The Fabelmans at the cinema I couldn’t help smiling, because I was witnessing a work of such passion and life and it made me so happy.


There have been a few films recently that have been a love letter to film, and I don’t know how I feel about it. Because we’re watching a film. I know how good they are. Give me an experience that shows me how good they are, don’t just tell me how good they are or show me good movies.

The Fabelmans manages to do both. There is definitely a lot in there about the love of filmmaking but there is also a lot more. The film is filled with a whole palette of emotions. One scene will have you laughing and the next will have you crying.

I loved the loose structure, I loved the magical filmmaking from such a legend, I loved the performances and I loved the different complex characters and themes it had.

The two parents are very complicated characters, as is the character based on Steven. There was a lot in there about seeing the world through films and how that affects your life. And there was also a lot about art and selfishness and seeing your parents as people for the first time.

I loved the fun cameos that added so much to the film (especially his great uncle and David Lynch). I knew as I was watching that this was something special. What a film.


(End Credit Review Rules:

1. I watch a movie at the cinemas and start reviewing the film as soon as the end credits start. As soon as the end credits finish I have to stop writing.

2. I’m allowed to go over what I’ve written once just to make sure it makes sense. And that’s it.

3. I will rate the movie according to how likely I am to watch again.

DISCLAIMER: These reviews will be my unprocessed thoughts and are likely to change after due consideration.)

Comentários


bottom of page