top of page
  • Lleyton Hughes

END CREDITS REVIEW: WHITE NOISE

Updated: Apr 21, 2023

RATING: EVERYTHING WE DO IS TO DISTRACT OURSELVES FROM THINKING ABOUT DEATH, AND THIS FILM IS A GREAT WAY TO DO BOTH AT ONCE.


Release: 2022

Directed By: Noah Baumbach

Cast: Adam Driver, Greta Gerwig, Don Cheadle


White Noise is an idea filled, genre defying and generally fresh film from Marriage Story director Noah Baumbach. Based on a book by Don Delilo, Baumbach remains faithful whilst also contributing his own stylistic elements as well as some touches I’m yet to see in his other work.


The film is very dialogue driven, but the camerawork is masterful. The performances are all strong especially Gerwig and Driver. And although I worried the pacing wouldn’t work in the film medium, it was handled deftly.


There are so many ideas and images that relate and oppose each other that I found myself thinking about so many different things in the movie theatre. The idea that the film is is most concerned with is the inevitability of death.


And although a lot of the other ideas in the film are left unanswered, the conclusion to this main theme is a tad underwhelming. It is an ending that I haven’t come to a decision on and I imagine it’ll be one I will have to think about.


White Noise is one of the weirdest films of the year and, in my opinion, one of the best.


(End Credit Review Rules:

1. I watch a movie at the cinemas and start reviewing the film as soon as the end credits start. As soon as the end credits finish I have to stop writing.

2. I’m allowed to go over what I’ve written once just to make sure it makes sense. And that’s it.

3. I will rate the movie according to how likely I am to watch again.

DISCLAIMER: These reviews will be my unprocessed thoughts and are likely to change after due consideration.)

Comments


bottom of page