top of page
  • Lleyton Hughes

END CREDITS REVIEW: TRIANGLE OF SADNESS

Updated: Apr 21, 2023

RATING: OUT OF THE THREE RICH VS POOR MOVIES OF THE YEAR (THE MENU, GLASS ONION AND THIS) THIS IS PROBABLY THE BEST

Original Release: 2022

Directed By: Ruben Ostlund

Cast: Charlbi Dean Kriek, Harris Dickinson, Dolly De Leon


Triangle of Sadness was definitely an interesting and enjoyable watch. Ruben Ostlund does a great job at creating scenarios which make you rethink and analyse things in your daily life in a way you hadn’t before.

The film is seperated into three parts. The first two were my favourite. They treaded similar territory to the other Ostlund film I’ve watched Force Majeure.

I specifically enjoyed the parts with Woody Harrelson in the second part as well as just the setting of the yacht. I enjoyed the absurd comedy sequences and I think the way it presented people will be uncomfortably familiar to some people.

The third part is possibly the most interesting of the three, but in the context of the movie it sort of fell flat. The movie had sort of ran out of gas at that point and I had no idea where the film was going. Which I feel like works for a beginning to a film, but not as an end.

The film is most definitely concerned with analysing capitalism and the relationship between the rich and the poor and enjoys playing out different scenarios and role reversals. In a year where these themes were analysed a lot, this was probably one of the best I’ve seen.


(End Credit Review Rules:

1. I watch a movie at the cinemas and start reviewing the film as soon as the end credits start. As soon as the end credits finish I have to stop writing.

2. I’m allowed to go over what I’ve written once just to make sure it makes sense. And that’s it.

3. I will rate the movie according to how likely I am to watch again.

DISCLAIMER: These reviews will be my unprocessed thoughts and are likely to change after due consideration.)

Comentarios


bottom of page