top of page
  • Lleyton Hughes

END CREDITS REVIEW: BULLET TRAIN

Updated: Jan 30, 2023

RATING: IF I EVER GET THE URGE TO REWATCH I’LL WATCH KILL BILL INSTEAD

Release: 2022

Director: David Leitch

Cast: Brad Pitt, Aaron Taylor-Johnson, Joey King

Bullet Train is a whodunnit type movie with the same flashbacks/flashforwards used by directors such as Quentin Tarantino and Guy Ritchie. It is a film which seems to interrogate ideas of fate and how we can sometimes think we can control it or predict it.


I do really like this format when done well, but I think this film uses these flashbacks, and minor stories, weakly at times. They are either uninteresting or don’t offer much about the characters or story.


There are also, in my opinion, too many characters. And none of them are fleshed out beyond the surface layers. There are definitely interesting characters, but we are never given enough about their back stories and motivations to really make them great characters that carry the story to the end.


There were definitely some fun and creative moments including certain action scenes, a side story from the point of view of a water bottle and some of the comedic dialogue. But there were too many terrible English accents, bad jokes and things happening at the same time. And it can, at times, all just get muddled into one big mess.


(End Credit Review Rules:

1. I watch a movie at the cinemas and start reviewing the film as soon as the end credits start. As soon as the end credits finish I have to stop writing.

2. I’m allowed to go over what I’ve written once just to make sure it makes sense. And that’s it.

3. I will rate the movie according to how likely I am to watch again.

DISCLAIMER: These reviews will be my unprocessed thoughts and are likely to change after due consideration.)

Comments


bottom of page