top of page
  • Lleyton Hughes

END CREDITS REVIEW: VERTIGO

RATING: THE FIRST OF MANY VIEWINGS

Release: 1958

Director: Alfred Hitchcock

Cast: Kim Novak, James Stewart, Barbara Bel Geddes


Alfred Hitchcock’s Vertigo is a well known classic and it is clear why. The film is a thriller which is both interesting and features iconic characters. The visuals are absolutely stunning especially considering the time it was made. The score adds so much to the tension of the film.


And Hitchcock, arguably the master of tension, shows us once more why he is regarded as so.

He had me on the edge of my seat just at the reveal of a women changing her hairstyle. It’s insane.


The first half of the film is quite an average psychological film, but the second half is where things really take off. And I was having a blast watching it all unfold on the big screen. The film takes so many risks I was unable to anticipate what was going to happen next.


There are emotional scenes with characters that don’t matter. There are funny moments. And there is some classic romance too. One of the best sequences was an animation sequence right in the middle which was pretty much the point where I became completely lost in the film. It was a gorgeous, fascinating thriller with an ending that left a lot to the imagination.


(End Credit Review Rules:

1. I watch a movie at the cinemas and start reviewing the film as soon as the end credits start. As soon as the end credits finish I have to stop writing.

2. I’m allowed to go over what I’ve written once just to make sure it makes sense. And that’s it.

3. I will rate the movie according to how likely I am to watch again.

DISCLAIMER: These reviews will be my unprocessed thoughts and are likely to change after due consideration.)

Комментарии


bottom of page