top of page
  • Lleyton Hughes

END CREDITS REVIEW:

RATING: GOOD IF YOU ENJOY LOTS OF FOOTAGE OF PEOPLE EXPLAINING THINGS


Release: 2022

Director: David O'Russell

Cast: Christian Bale, Margot Robbie, John David Washington


Amsterdam is a bit of a mess. The structure is all over the place and there is A LOT of exposition in the dialogue (even though there’s also a narrator).


As a result we are given little to invest into our characters causing the film to become more and more uninteresting as it progresses.


The whole section devoted to the time the three leads spent in Amsterdam was my favourite part of the film. I loved watching them escape the politics, history and attachments of their old life and just be able to be free for a fleeting moment.


From there the film spirals and tries to make too many points without really making any. Christian Bale is the obvious standout, the rest of the cast try their best with the little material that they have.


(End Credit Review Rules:

1. I watch a movie at the cinemas and start reviewing the film as soon as the end credits start. As soon as the end credits finish I have to stop writing.

2. I’m allowed to go over what I’ve written once just to make sure it makes sense. And that’s it.

3. I will rate the movie according to how likely I am to watch again.

DISCLAIMER: These reviews will be my unprocessed thoughts and are likely to change after due consideration.)

Comentários


bottom of page