top of page
  • Lleyton Hughes

THE MATRIX PROFILES: JENNY HICKS

Australian writer, editor, and director Jenny Hicks spoke to DirectedBy about her work on the three Matrix movies. She talks about exactly what she did as an editorial assistant, fond memories on set and what the Wachowskis were really like.

Name: Jenny Hicks

Department: Editorial

Films: The Matrix, The Matrix Reloaded, The Matrix Revolutions

Other Credits: Twin Peaks, Lord of the Rings


Hey Jenny, firstly I’d love to know how you got the job being an editorial assistant for ‘The Matrix’ films?


I had been an assistant editor in the US for a few years and so when they were looking for an assistant in Sydney for the first Matrix I got the job because I was experienced with American systems and expertise.


What exactly does an editorial assistant do? Do you get any say in how the film is edited or is it more about following directions from the director and/or main editor?


Back then we were shooting film, not digital, and screening rushes on film. (Rushes is a term which refers to the raw footage that has come straight from the camera.) Although the film was edited digitally. My job was to receive and check all the paperwork and then the film rushes from the lab came to me and I would sync the picture rushes to the sound rushes, check for any technical issues and then screen the rushes for the crew every night.


The rest of the assistant editors job, in terms of ingesting digital data and logging and creating a database of the footage and then breaking the material up into scenes in different bins in the AVID, was done by another assistant. I was really the Celluloid assistant back then.


The first film is quite revolutionary in all aspects of film, in my opinion, when you worked on it did you have any idea of how successful it was going to be?


No, no idea. The script was complex and because so much of it was shot for VFX it was hard to get a handle on the mood and tone of the piece.


What are your opinions on the editing of the three films? And was there anything vastly different about the editing in these films then other films you have worked on?


The films were shot in Sydney but once the shoot was over, the producers and directors went back to the USA with Zach the editor and they cut the film back in the US. Without me. But they were all big VFX films and I hadn’t done that much work on VFX heavy pictures so it was cool to see how the FVX editor fitted into the system.


Did you have any personal contact with the Wachowskis? If so, what were they like? Did it seem like these two were going to become two of the biggest directors of our time?


Yes they are both very cool humans, clever, relaxed and good natured. Yes they definitely had the air of the A Team about them and surrounding themselves with A list producers and production and post production people also helped them a lot.


I understand that after the first film’s success, there was a lot of pressure for the sequels to reach that same level. Did you feel any of this pressure when working on them?


No. No pressure from my end. I believe the Wachowskis were not that interested in doing the sequels but had to because of their contractual obligations on the first one. I don’t think either of the sequels lived up to the first film. I have not seen this latest one. I should.


Would you be able to tell us any fond stories or memories that you have from working on the films?


Many fond memories. It was a big post production team under the helm of Zach Steinberg, (picture only there were 7 of us) so we had a lot of fun at work, Americans and Australians working together. The films were well budgeted which means we were well paid and looked after and the producers threw legendary wrap parties.


The editing of the film that the Wachowskis released after ‘The Matrix’ films, ‘Speed Racer’, has some of the coolest editing I’ve ever seen. I wonder if you’ve seen that film and if you have any opinions on its editing?


I have not seen Speed Racer but the film has two editors credited Zach Steinberg and Roger Barton. Who knows who did what, but both men are fine editors.


I see now that you have moved away from editing and are now doing some directing and writing. What prompted that change?


I am tired of helping other people make their films. I want to make my films now. I have stories to tell that have to be told.


Is there anything else you’d like to add?


Not really, what’s the new Matrix like?


The new one is pretty great, I think. I’m pretty sure the background behind it is that they were going to make a new Matrix film regardless of if the Wachowskis were going to be a part of it or not. So Lana decided she didn’t want someone else to make one and did it herself. I think it’s a great comment on reboots and sequels. Kind of criticising them while also making one herself. You should definitely check it out.


Yes I will check it out. The trailer was very good. Yes this whole push for franchised entertainment really hasn’t been doing the quality of big budget films much good. Dumbing down and mass producing mindless violence really, I totally get why Lana decided she should helm the next Matrix and give it half a chance.


See The Matrix review here.

Comments


bottom of page